Cloth Diaper Review: Thirsties Duo Wrap

Thirsties covers were one of the later additions to our stash, but they have become a staple.  We have one in size 1 (Cool Stripes pattern) and one in size 2 (Hoot pattern), both with snaps instead of aplix (velcro-like) closure.  I use them with trifolded or Snappi’ed prefolds.

Cotton Babies product description:

Easy to use and easy on the wallet, Thirsties Duo Wraps have an adjustable rise the allows a great fit twice as long. Two sizes will last from birth to potty training!

Completely waterproof yet breathable, pliable and comfortable for even the most delicate skin. Thirsties Duo Wraps’ leg gussets provide advanced leak protection and the bindings are soft against baby’s skin. Want to have fewer covers in your stash? The inside of Thirsties Duo Wraps can be wiped clean between uses.

Thirsties Duo Wrap Snap CLosure- Ocean

Sizing

size one: 6-18 lbs (3-8 kg) – 0-9 months
size two: 18-40 lbs (8-18 kg) – 9-36 months

Care & Content

Machine wash warm or hot. Dry in dryer or hang to dry.  100% polyester with urethane coating.  FREE of VOC’s, PVC, phthalates, lead, and latex.

The basics/initial reaction:

The covers are pretty stiff, which makes them come off as being extra sturdy.  I liked the feel of it in my hand and it seemed like it was going to contain anything thrown at it.  I liked the idea of being able to wipe it clean and reuse the cover.

Thirsties Duo Wrap Snap, size 1, in Cool Stripes.

The cover has “leg gussets” in addition to the normal leg elastic.  This was my first diaper with gussets and it looked for sure like nothing would ever escape.

The leg gussets look like they’ll keep just about anything from coming out those leg openings.

As for the snaps, it’s got ten snaps across the top for width adjustment, and three rows for adjusting the rise as well.

Ten snaps across the top and three rows for rise adjustment.

The size 1 cover fit Jackson well until he was five months old.  At that point, it would still fit (and still does) but only just barely, on the largest rise and near the outside snaps for the waist.  He can only wear it with an infant size prefold, which is of course less absorbant because it is smaller.  Now, in order to wear a regular size prefold, he has to wear the size 2 cover and fold the prefold down to make the length shorter.

Size 1 cover with an infant sized indian cotton prefold from Cotton Babies.  The length is pretty much a perfect match.

Things that surprised me:

This could have been a problem with the way I was fastening (or not fastening) the prefold inside of the cover, but it seemed like every poop got onto the cover.  I’ll give it this, the cover did contain the poop, but once it came off the prefold and onto the fabric that lines the edges, there was no “wiping it clean and using it again.”  I probably could have wiped the poo off of the waterproof PUL fabric on the inside, but not the piping along the edges since it was regular fabric.  So, the cover had to be changed with almost every prefold change, and I found myself only being able to use this diaper system (prefold + cover) once a day because I started out with only one cover.  I’d have to switch to another system, like pocked diapers or hybrids, to get through the rest of the day.

The size 1 cover fit Jackson fine for awhile, and still does (but barely) with an infant-sized prefold.  But when we moved up to the size 2 cover, a problem presented itself.  I have yet to figure out where it’s coming from (or find a solution) but the size 2 cover rubs Jackson’s little thighs almost raw.  He can’t wear this cover overnight or he will have big, pink welps on the inside of both thighs.  He has pretty chunky thighs, so I imagine it’s just got to do with the fit in that area (maybe where the rise is snapped down, because it sort of protrudes out to the side where it’s folded over and snapped down).

He may have chunky thighs, but he is really damned cute!

The last thing that surprised me was the permeability of the cover.  I realize that PUL fabric is supposed to be waterproof, but if Jackson wore this diaper cover and then fell asleep for a long nap, or wore it while we were running errands and I forgot to change it or something, I found that the external surface of the diaper would feel damp.  It didn’t wick onto his clothing, so it wasn’t super wet, but it was wet nonetheless, and I was definitely surprised by that.

Things that did not surprise me:

This diaper is CUTE.  Are you surprised?  Every pattern (and there are so many!) from Thirsties is cute.  This diaper is sturdy.  It is definitely going to last through multiple children, which is why I bought it.  That’s also why I chose the snap version (and I choose that for everything), because in general they tend to last longer than aplix closures.

How cute are those owls?!

I was not surprised by the price, either.  The price of this cover was $13.25 on Amazon when I purchased it, and I think that was a fair price for the quality of the cover.

Other thoughts:

Thirsties has this weird idea that their sizing is better than one-size diapers.  Here’s exactly what they say about it:

Thirsties Duo Wraps are a result of more than six months of development and testing. This affordable wrap actually hatched as a one-size diaper cover. Logically, we thought a one-size diaper cover would be the most affordable option for the end-consumer. But what we actually discovered, no matter how many different cuts and prototypes we made, is that the ‘one-size’ options are too big on the average newborn and too small for most toddlers over 24 months of age. What this means is that the ‘one-size’ option truly only fits your baby properly when he weighs between 10 to 32 lbs. Alas, our findings confirm that the label ‘one-size’ diaper/ cover simply does not live up to its claim. Most families purchasing a ‘one size’ cover would actually end up purchasing a newborn size, a ‘one-size’, and a toddler size: THREE sizes from birth to potty! Not ONE. Therefore, in the end, Thirsties Duo Wraps are truly looking out for your wallet.

I will say, flat-out, I am not convinced.  The one-size diapers in my stash fit my son when he was three months old (and not on the tightest fit, so he could have worn them earlier – that was just when we started with cloth) and my 30+ pound 2 year old who is now potty trained during the day.  That’s a large enough span!  I just think that if they want to make two sizes, that’s fine, but there’s no need to spout some BS about saving money that way, because you don’t.  I bought these diapers even after I read the above statement, because they were just so damned cute!  But why bother being pretentious about it?

Final judgement:

I don’t regret purchasing these two covers, but I probably would not make the same decision in a do-over.  If I could do it again, I would pick covers that are actually one-size so I wouldn’t have to buy two.  Unless I got suckered in by one of their extremely cute patterns… But overall the cover functions as advertised.  I’d say proceed with caution: if you’re a sucker for cute prints like me, buy it.  If you’re concerned about having to buy multiple sizes, don’t!  Stick with a one-size cover instead.

Leave a Reply

