Worship Wednesdays


That's not a stock photo.  That's my actual Bible and all my pretty pink writing utensils.

I picked up a new free Kindle book the other day called A Cup of Comfort Women of the Bible Devotional: Daily Reflections Inspired by Scripture’s Most Beloved Heroines.  The verse I picked to share this week is from May 15’s devotional.

Now I appeal to Euodia and Syntyche.  Please, because you belong to the Lord, settle your disagreement.

Philippians 4:2

The Bible doesn’t describe why these two women were in a disagreement, but I suppose the reason doesn’t really matter.  This verse is standing out to me this week because of a gigantic disagreement in my own family.  (Don’t worry, it’s not me and Big Daddy.  It doesn’t involve either of us, actually.)  My father and brother, who is only fourteen, haven’t been on speaking terms for almost a year now – has it really been that long already? – for reasons that are murky on all sides.  It isn’t my place to share their business, but I will say that it has really split our family.  I find myself in the middle, being the go-between, carrying messages back and forth because I am the only one that both sides will still share with.  If I had any courage, I’d share this verse with them and try to push them back together, but I am not that courageous and they need to resolve this themselves anyway.

What I take away from this verse is that, considering that both of them are Christians (one of them attends Christian school, to boot) they need to settle their differences and at least be civil.  A family is strongest when it is united.

Leave a Reply

