Family in (Laundry) Crisis

We’ve got a bit of a “situation” going on at the house right now.  Hubby and I (and our two boys) rent the top floor of Big Daddy’s grandmother’s house.  This usually works out well for us – yes, we do pay rent, but it is affordable – but not always.  We generally keep to ourselves up here, but sometimes things happen in “the other house” that still affect us.  Usually it’s my “father-in-law” (and I use that term loosely, since even Big Daddy calls him by his first name) smoking all manner of things inside the house and the smoke invading our part of the home, concentrating in Little A’s room.  Obviously, this is a huge problem.  But that’s a problem for another day.

Today, we’re having a laundry crisis.  As other moms of young’ins will know, laundry is nuts when you have two kids under two and a husband who insists on wearing at least two, sometimes three, sets of clothes a day.  I’m currently doing at least two loads a day of mixed laundry (I throw it all in there together – darks, whites, colors, towels, all of it), plus one more if Little A’s diaper leaks overnight, which is about 80% of the time.  And another load if his comforter gets wet, too, which is maybe about 40% of the time.  Side note: I have not found a combination of cloth diapers/inserts that can contain this kid’s pee for an entire night, so he is in overnight disposables.  These still leak, but leak much less than cloth does on him, so only the baby wears cloth.  Suggestionsappreciated.  Then, of course, there’s the diaper laundry, which requires two cycles (a soak and a wash with an extra rinse) if there are poopies.  They also require almost double drying time.

That’s a lot of laundry. But I manage, and I generally enjoy it, too.  Laundry is kind of zen for me.  Until today.

Today, the dryer broke downstairs.

So, add to my above laundry list, “drying laundry for four additional adults.”

I am so trying (unsuccessfully) not to panic.  If you don’t hear from me for a couple of days, send a search party.  I’ll be under the Mt. Everest of Laundry.

Leave a Reply

